Take the ASVAB

The Air Guard has specific requirements when taking the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) test. The ASVAB is used by the Air Force primarily for two purposes:

  1. to determine if you have the mental capability to be successful through basic training and other Air Force training programs, and
  2. to determine your aptitude for learning various Air Force jobs.

The Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) is a multiple choice test, administered by the United States Military Entrance Processing Command (MEPS), used to determine qualification for enlistment in the United States Air Force. In addition to determining eligibility, the test also determines jobs available to you in the Air Force and enlistment bonus incentives, so you will want to do your best when taking the ASVAB.

You may have already taken the ASVAB in high school or for enlistment purposes. If so, tell your recruiter or your test administrator, because you may not be required to take the test.

What is the minimum score?

To enlist in the Air Force you must achieve a certain score on the ASVAB to be eligible for enlistment. The scores are broken down by the individual sub-tests and composites of the sub-tests. The Armed Forces Qualification Test (AFQT) is notably the most critical of these scores for it is used to determine if you are qualified to join the military. In addition, your scores on the other ASVAB composite tests will determine your career field or military occupation eligibility. Since enlistment bonuses are usually tied to your choice of occupations, the better the score, the more opportunities you have.

The AFQT is comprised of your test results in Arithmetic Reasoning (AR), Math Knowledge (MK), and Verbal Composite (VE) x 2. Your Verbal Composite score is a combination of your Word Knowledge and Paragraph Comprehension scores.

AFQT required minimum score as of 2009 (unless otherwise noted) are as follows:

Air Force (AFQT) 36 (GED Graduate – 65)
Air National Guard (AFQT) 31 (GED Graduate – 50)

Your score weighs heavily on determining what jobs you qualify for in the Air Force. These jobs are known as AFSCs, or Air Force Special Code.

Three Versions of the ASVAB

There are three distinctly different versions or formats of the ASVAB; the pencil and paper version (MET-site), the computerized version (CAT, computer adaptive test) and the high school version or student ASVAB. Each ASVAB has different benefits and limitations. If you’re taking the test as part of your enlistment process into the Air Guard, you wll most likely take the computerized version during your trip to MEPS.

To find what jobs you qualify for, the Air Force breaks down your ASVAB subtest scores into groups known as “qualification areas.”

The four qualification areas are:

Qualification Area ASVAB Subtests
G – General Verbal Expression (WK plus PC) and Arithmetic Reasoning (AR)
M – Mechanical Mechanical Comprehension (MC), General Science (GS) and 2 times Auto & Shop Information (AS)
A – Administrative Numerical Operations * (NO), Coding Speed * (CS), and Verbal Expression (WK plus PC)
E – Electrical Arithmetic Reasoning (AR), Mathematics Knowledge (MK), Electronics Information (EI), and General Science (GS)

* Note that as Numerical Operations (NO) and Coding Speed (CS) subtests are phased out, some qualification area scores may be changed.

First Name
Last Name
Phone Number
- -